Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Countdown To Kickoff: 59 Days

As we reach the 50's, today's photo honors Ole Miss' first national championship team the 1959 squad. Dubbed the SEC team of the decade by the Associated Press, the '59 Rebels outscored their opponents 329-21 and avenged their only regular-season loss, a 7-3 heart breaker to LSU, by thrashing they Tigers 21-0 in the Sugar Bowl. Ole Miss was named national champions by Berryman, Billingsley, Dunkel and Sagarin.

If you have a suggestion for a favorite player, play or something a little more creative you would like to see featured in the countdown, leave a comment below or shoot me an e-mail at

No comments:

Post a Comment